contents
Your weekly briefing on the state of 
humanity
SEE ALL ISSUES
EDITOR'S LETTER
Our world this week
NEWS FEATURE 1
Familiar power struggles set to plague the ‘new’ Zimbabwe
NEWS FEATURE 2
Germany’s unexpected uncertainty
NEWS FEATURE 3
Asia’s democracy crisis widens
NEWS FEATURE 4
The ‘new Cold War’ keeps a frozen conflict on ice
www.nytimes.com
The Uncounted
www.middleeasteye.net
Football brings joy amid war: Yemenis celebrate return of the game
www.voanews.com
Afghan Local Police: The Controversial Force That Fills a Security Gap

Dispatch from northern Iraq

A s Iraqi forces push deeper into western Mosul, Islamic State’s last urban stronghold in the country, more and more people are fleeing its reign of terror.
I travelled to northern Iraq to assess the human toll, but also the sense of liberation as inhabitants flee to safety.
Less than 30 kilometres from western Mosul, one elderly woman said the past few weeks had been extremely trying, marked by hunger and thirst. “We even forgot what tea looks like,” she told The World Weekly, sitting on the muddied ground in the Hammam al-Alil refugee camp, where she had arrived earlier in the day.
As buses reached the crowded reception site, more people shared their painful experiences. Many had made large parts of the journey from Mosul on foot, some even without shoes.
Politicians and analysts agree that IS needs to be defeated in a variety of ways, first and foremost militarily and ideologically.
But Iraq faces another enormous challenge: making sure those who have left everything behind can return as soon as possible to what is left of their homes (if they wish to) and are adequately housed for as long as the conflict continues.
Read our full investigation in the coming weeks.
Manuel Langendorf,
Editor-in-Chief, The World Weekly
Editor's Letter
16 March 2017 - last edited 16 March 2017
Editor-in-Chief / Middle East Editor: Manuel Langendorf
manuel@theworldweekly.com

Associate Editor / Europe Editor: Joe Wallace
joseph@theworldweekly.com

Asia-Pacific Editor:
Tim Cross
tim@theworldweekly.com

Africa Editor: Kasper Loftin
kasper@theworldweekly.com

Americas Editor: Henry Goodwin
henry@theworldweekly.com

Staff writer: Marta Rodmarti
marta@theworldweekly.com

Staff writer: Alastair McCready
alastair@theworldweekly.com
Managing Director: Rory O’grady
rory@theworldweekly.com

Chairman: John Spearman

CTO: Christos Athanasiadis

Front-end Developer: Giorgos Sideris​

Back-end Developer: Fran Alvarez

Art Director: Tyrone Barton

Picture Editor: Amir Mohammad
A journalistic initiative
sponsored by:
about our sponsor