contents
Your weekly briefing on the state of 
humanity
SEE ALL ISSUES
EDITOR'S LETTER
Our world this week
NEWS FEATURE 1
Donald Trump the Democrat
NEWS FEATURE 2
Is the bitcoin bubble about to burst?
NEWS FEATURE 3
Israel’s house of cards
NEWS FEATURE 4
Italy: the last litmus test for European populism?
www.theguardian.com
Trump in Moscow: what happened at Miss Universe in 2013
www.middleeasteye.net
The smuggler and the refugee: Bullets, beatings and babies crying
www.bbc.co.uk
The world's least likely Girl Guides

2017: Year of the dove?

H ow can we help the millions of people caught up in conflict, suffering massively in wars with no end in sight?” asked António Guterres, the new secretary-general of the United Nations, on New Year’s Day.
Having served as UN High Commissioner for Refugees for 10 years, Mr. Guterres is all too familiar with the wars that ripped local communities and whole countries apart in 2016. 
From the siege on eastern Aleppo, to fighting in South Sudan, to displacement in Myanmar, to terrorist attacks around the world, the past year was one marked by many deadly conflicts. 
But 2016 also bears lessons on how to overcome decades of strife, above all in Colombia, where government and rebels negotiated peace not once but twice, ending one of the world’s longest-running civil wars.
“Let us make 2017 a year for peace,” the UN secretary-general declared. It will not be an easy journey: as Colombia showed, healing the rifts created by violence cannot be achieved overnight. But in the end, isn’t this a journey worth making? 
Manuel Langendorf, 
Co-editor, The World Weekly
Editor's Letter
05 January 2017 - last edited 05 January 2017
Editor-in-Chief / Middle East Editor: Manuel Langendorf
manuel@theworldweekly.com

Associate Editor / Europe Editor: Joe Wallace
joseph@theworldweekly.com

Asia-Pacific Editor:
Tim Cross
tim@theworldweekly.com

Africa Editor: Kasper Loftin
kasper@theworldweekly.com

Americas Editor: Henry Goodwin
henry@theworldweekly.com

Staff writer: Marta Rodmarti
marta@theworldweekly.com

Staff writer: Alastair McCready
alastair@theworldweekly.com
Managing Director: Rory O’grady
rory@theworldweekly.com

Chairman: John Spearman

CTO: Christos Athanasiadis

Front-end Developer: Giorgos Sideris​

Back-end Developer: Fran Alvarez

Art Director: Tyrone Barton

Picture Editor: Amir Mohammad
A journalistic initiative
sponsored by:
about our sponsor